Recommended way to connect to cloud hosted database

I am trying to write to an Azure hosted PostgreSQL database but get blocked by the Azure firewall because the Gitpod IP address is not whitelisted. I know there are a few options to get around this, but I am curious what is recommended?

Should I setup an hosted VPN?

Are there other, easier options I am not aware of? LoadBalancer? Static IP?

Do I need to self-host?

Obviously, from my questions you can tell I am not a network professional, just trying to get something pretty straightforward setup to run some Jupyter Notebooks.

Hey @nicksilver, welcome to the Gitpod community! :tada:

You can find all the installation methods and relevant scripts under the install directory.

Recommendation: We recommend choosing GCP or AWS to deploy and run a Gitpod instance. You can use our Terraform scripts to configure, deploy, and upgrade an instance.

Using the helm charts from the chart directory to configure and deploy Gitpod on Kubernetes is also a great approach. This will be more stable solution after the upcoming 0.6.0 release.

Thanks for the response @gtsiolis. I might be confusing things, but the issue I am trying to resolve (or just get recommendations on) is connecting the docker container to a cloud hosted database. Every time a workspace is spun-up, the container has a different IP address which I then I have to whitelist in a separate, manual step. I am quite sure there are better options…but I am not sure which road to go down.

I am not self-hosting Gitpod so I have no control over the assigned IP address.

Oh, I misread that @nicksilver! I think this is something you should configure on the Azure side. Have you seen the docs related to Firewall rules in Azure Database for PostgreSQL? :flashlight:

I have looked at that page. The issue I am having is actually clearly stated there under Firewall troubleshooting issues. Here’s what it says: