How to run RabbitMQ in GitPod

Hello, anybody has an example of how to run RabbitMQ in GitPod for local development?

Hi @marcopeg! Sorry for the late response, but I’m not aware of any RabbitMQ-in-Gitpod example.

But I would expect RabbitMQ’s local installation instructions to work equally well in Gitpod, e.g. by doing something similar to Gitpod’s official PostgreSQL Docker image.

Have you tried installing RabbitMQ in Gitpod? Were there any bugs?

Maybe a .gitpod.Dockerfile like this could work (untested):

FROM gitpod/workspace-full

RUN mkdir /tmp/rabbitmq \
    && cd /tmp/rabbitmq \
    && wget -qO rabbitmq-server.deb https://github.com/rabbitmq/rabbitmq-server/releases/download/v3.8.5/rabbitmq-server_3.8.5-1_all.deb \
    && sudo dpkg -i rabbitmq-server.deb \
    && rm -rf /tmp/rabbitmq

Thank you Jan, I’m giving it a go.

Locally, I’ve always ran Rabbit as docker container. I’m not good at Linux and Docker comes in handy for such things.

I read that docker-in-docker support is coming to GitPod… As a user, there are only 2 major blockers that prevent me from moving everything to GitPod:

1. I need to run docker-compose projects
  2. I need to share an NPM identity or DockerHUB between workspaces in order to push

Hello, I tried but it doesn’t quite work :frowning:.

ERROR: rabbitmq-server depends on erlang-base

Too bad, it would be quite interesting to have Rabbit packaged with a workspace so to have a self contained environment to develop and test an event driven app!

@marcopeg @jan I’ve wrapped up the solution to run RabbitMQ on GitPod service:
https://github.com/nemke82/rabbitmqgitpod, also updated my Magento 2 repo to support it as well with the latest version. Hope this helps. Cheers.

1 Like

Support for docker-compose in Gitpod should be coming soon (currently being implemented in Gitpod, so barring any unforeseen blockers this should get released relatively soon).